Changes in State Capitals

Boston Herald

Most of the states have made a change in their capitals, a number of which are almost forgotten.

To begin with the thirteen original states, New Hampshire has changed its capital three times. For a long time Portsmouth was the capital, and all the royal governors lived there. During the revolution, and for several years afterward, the seat of government was at Exeter. It was only in 1808 that the capital was permanently established at Concord.

Rhode Island, the smallest of all the states of the Union, has two capitals—Providence and Newport. It originally had five, South Kingston, East Greenwich, and Bristol being included. The three latter were discontinued in the early part of the century. A new State House is being built at Providence, and by vote at this year's election Newport will lose its distinction as a capital.

Enjoy 1 free Sentinel article or audio program each month, including content from 1898 to today.

Christian Science Applied to Education
July 18, 1901

We'd love to hear from you!

Easily submit your testimonies, articles, and poems online.