Items of Interest

In a recent gathering, representing all parties, in Porto Rico, the following memorial was adopted and the appeal made that,—

The House of Delegates shall continue as heretofore, elected by popular vote and composed of thirty-five members; that instead of the Executive Council there shall be an Insular Senate composed of fourteen Senators, to be elected, two for each one of the seven districts into which the island is divided; that these two legislative branches shall have all legislative authority granted by the act of April 12, 1990, to the Legislative Assembly of Porto Rice; that the six departments now existing, namely, the Secretary of Porto Rico, the Attorney-General, the Treasurer, the Auditor, the Commissioner of Education, and the Commissioner of the Interior, shall be continued in force; that the heads of these six departments shall be appointed by the Governor of Porto Rico with the advice and consent of the Insular Senate.

August 26, 1905

We'd love to hear from you!

Easily submit your testimonies, articles, and poems online.